top of page

From Kwantlen to Colombia

Traveling is like learning, the more places you go, the more your realize how little you have seen.

A year ago, when I told my family I was going back to school, they sat with their mouths open, in total shock. Questions like "Who goes back to school when they are 30?" and "Why can't you just stay at your job that you hate?" were asked. Now those are fair questions, which I had already asked myself. But after months of research, preparation and going through the Interior Design Portfolio Review process, I had made up my mind and nothing could stop me.

My Sustainable Portfolio - made from recycled cardboard

Studying Interior Design at Kwantlen is unlike any education I have had before. Our instructors are inspiring, engaging and our courses are extremely challenging. Our cohort contains 19 students, ranging in age, background and experience, but we all have one thing in common - we are going crazy together! But in a good way. We are questioning everything we know, we are designing rooms from rotting food and roadkill, we are willingly participating in dressing up in contests to be the tackiest student - all in the name of one of our favorite instructors!

Adding this to the list of accomplishments: Tacky Day

And while the workload is heavy, the Kwantlen Student Association has some kind of sixth sense for when stress is at an all time high. On numerous occasions, we have been given free ice cream, aromatherapy oils and stress detox kits by different student societies. The Richmond Campus is an inspiring environment to learn in as well. Our instructors encourage us to display our projects on the walls and share our experiences with other years of Interior Design and students from other faculties.

When I told my family I was going to Colombia to spend two weeks in the Amazon Rain Forest, my dad gave me a look that said, "Why are you trying to give me a heart attack?" I reassured my parents I would not be swimming in the river, and that our guides knew all about which frogs not to lick - so things were going to be fine! But this idea of going to one of the world's most dangerous places inspired me immensely.

For our final studio class last semester, we were given words, which had to be represented in a three dimensional sculpture. My word was "Adventurous" and I chose to built an interactive sculpture that forced anyone entering our classroom to choose an adventure: navigating their way between spiky cones or pushing their way through what I called "the Geo-Jungle".

The Geo-Jungle and the Ice Cave

The Geo-Jungle and the Ice Cave

I don't know if there is any real way to prepare oneself for going somewhere like the Amazon, but I've been watching Spanish soap operas, looking for waterproof/mosquito-proof/anaconda-proof clothing and whenever possible, going for hikes.

Living in Vancouver, BC means being surrounded by some of Canada's finest hiking trails. From anywhere in the lower mainland, you are never more than 30 minutes away from a good walk. And while some people may not like the rain, this is actually one of the best times to go hiking! Everything smells fresh and earthy, there aren't as many people on trails and the forest turns a vibrant green.

Hiking Lynn Valley with friends from Sweden and Toronto

Hiking Lynn Valley with friends from Sweden and Toronto

I've been hiking all over the world! Most of my favorite traveling experiences involve long walks with no plans. I have a strange habit of actually TRYING to get lost when I travel. There is something great to be said about exploring a place without a map, (although you should keep one on you, just in case!) and seeing where you end up. Below are some highlights of times I've done just that. Scroll over the photos for more details.

Hiking Campuhan Ridge, in Ubud, Bali

A trail in Whytecliff Park, West Vancouver
An afternoon hike, with Benny the Golden Retriever

Hiking Waimea Canyon, Kauai, Hawaii

Exploring the dry interior of BC

Hiking Campuhan Ridge, in Ubud, Bali

Two years ago, when my partner and I traveled to Bali, we were overwhelmed by the culture, the people and the geography. It was our first time traveling to Indonesia, and we couldn't believe how friendly and helpful everyone was. Steeped in the most ancient traditions of Hindu culture, the Balinese pray, and pray often. We are currently praying that we get to go back soon! Meanwhile, we will just relive our experience in the below video compilation I created:

Despite the tarantulas, I am really looking forward to exploring the Amazon Rain Forest. Going to Colombia will be my first South American experience, and I hope to soak up as much as I can about their culture, language and traditions. In the meantime, I am looking forward to reading books with catchy titles like, "So You Think You Can Out-swim an Anaconda?" and "Sloth or Tree Trunk: A guide to the Identifying Creatures in the Jungle".

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page